Easy Search [ ? ]
 
* Login   * Register * FAQ    * Search

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Powerbook g4 17 white screen, external works
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:35 am
Posts: 2
Hello, I have a problem with a PB 17, (1,5 Ghz). The screen of my PB is completely white, but the external monitor works great. I've already replaced the lvds cable, but no result, PB detects the lcd in system profile and I can change a brightness of build in lcd. So I really don't know whats the problem, I'm sure, that the lcd is ok, because it was working with an old lvds, which was broken and Its because I replaced it. I've found this solve http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1128310 but I don't understand what means "Removed the outer RAM and let the inner remain on the Logic Board." (maybe because english is not my native language)) I really need help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Powerbook g4 17 white screen, external works
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:35 am
Posts: 977
That just means switching the RAM chips around or only trying one at a time. I doubt that would fix your issue. It is most likely the logic board at this point since it isn't the cable and you are sure it isn't the LCD.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Powerbook g4 17 white screen, external works
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:35 am
Posts: 2
Thanks for your answer, I've tried switching the RAM, but no result. Furthermore it often detects only one RAM module, so maybe I need to do something with my ram...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Powerbook g4 17 white screen, external works
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:03 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:35 am
Posts: 977
You can see if the "missing" RAM chip follows the chip or the slot by seeing which slot is not being detected, then swapping the RAM around and see if the "empty" slot jumps to the other slot. If it does, then it is a bad RAM chip. If it stays on the same slot, its a logic board issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
 
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group