Easy Search [ ? ]
 
* Login   * Register * FAQ    * Search

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Pismo/ Panther/ext F/W HD
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:41 am 
I just had another bright Idea....
Since my pismo crashed because of a bum Ram stick. I re-installed 10.2.8 and have been trying to figure out how to transfer my stuff from the ext. HD backup. with 10.3.9.
Could I just leave the stuff I already have installed on my int. HD and boot from the ext. HD using boot C then run my old system from the Ext. HD.... Its bootable Carbon Copy cloned.
As my battery is dead I'm always on Mains and my Ext HD is always connected... I never take my Pismo anywhere. Fot the moment I only have 128 Ram, but will soon have another 512.
If i could just run my system from the Ext.HD it would solve a lot transfer problems.
Will this work/

Shut down my computer leaving the ext. F/W HD plugged in
Then re-boot holding down C ????
Should I wait untill I've installed the 512 Ram stick...128 is a bit limit for panther and it was already slow with 2X 128
Thanks in advance. david


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pismo/ Panther/ext F/W HD
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:53 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:35 am
Posts: 977
Reboot holding down Option. This will list all the bootable devices including any ext hard drives.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pismo/ Panther/ext F/W HD
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:42 pm 
Thanks
Is it the same thing ...OPT/Boot ...and /or going to the Preferences system and choosing the H/D boot image then choose the Ext.FW drive and reboot ??? Sorry I'm a newbie and I dont want to screw up my computer AGAIN
David


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pismo/ Panther/ext F/W HD
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 2:02 pm 
Me again !!!
I forgot to ask. Once my cloned disc is running my ordi can I still install something to that disc?
I suddendly realised that sice I last cloned my back up I've changed printer. ( I do have the install disc from the new printer)
thanks


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pismo/ Panther/ext F/W HD
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:07 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:35 am
Posts: 977
Guest wrote:
Thanks
Is it the same thing ...OPT/Boot ...and /or going to the Preferences system and choosing the H/D boot image then choose the Ext.FW drive and reboot ??? Sorry I'm a newbie and I dont want to screw up my computer AGAIN
David


it should be the same.

Guest wrote:
Me again !!!
I forgot to ask. Once my cloned disc is running my ordi can I still install something to that disc?
I suddendly realised that sice I last cloned my back up I've changed printer. ( I do have the install disc from the new printer)
thanks


sure


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pismo/ Panther/ext F/W HD
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 5:36 am 
Justin, THANKS for all the info " grace a toi "I amost have a new Pismo...Installed a new 512 Ram re booted from my ext. HD and everything works GREAT...lot faster than before.. All for $14

One last question ? My PISMO system is; PowerPC 750/500MHz /Speed 100Mhz 640 Mb Ram /// Will it take TIGER ( up to which version ?)
and is it really worth changing from PANTHER


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pismo/ Panther/ext F/W HD
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:35 am
Posts: 977
I never really recommend putting Tiger on Pismos. It always ends up being too sluggish.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group