PowerbookMedic.com
http://www.powerbookmedic.com/forum/

no hard drive
http://www.powerbookmedic.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=209
Page 1 of 1

Author:  reking96 [ Fri Aug 22, 2003 6:55 pm ]
Post subject:  no hard drive

Hello,

I'm in major trouble. Her's the deal: I installe dthe 20 gig HD and CDROM that I bought from you guys, thanks to you wonderful manual, but I have seemed to run into a few problems. When I go to install OSx, on the new drive, i get to the palce where I am to select a DESTINATION DRIVE, nut here's the problem...no drive is listed. ANy help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks rachel

Author:  powerbookmedic [ Sat Aug 23, 2003 12:41 am ]
Post subject: 

You first have to format the drive. In the menu of the install cd is a disk utility option. Select it, format the drive, and all should be well.

-Bradley
Powerbookmedic.com

Author:  reking96 [ Sat Aug 23, 2003 12:41 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hi thanks for getting back to me so quickly! But I tried to do that and none of the options are available. Do you think the HD is installed corectly. because be the looks of things, In the Disk utility, it looks as though only the CD ROM drive is being noticed. I am so lost!! Thanks Again!

Rachel :?:

Author:  powerbookmedic [ Sat Aug 23, 2003 1:40 pm ]
Post subject: 

This type of thing is more difficult to talk through in the OSX installer. Do you have a copy of OS9 either installed or on CD. I'd initilize the drive in OS9 first. It might be easier. If OS9 doesn't see it, then it is probably installed incorrectly.

-Bradley
Powerbookmedic.com

Author:  reking96 [ Sat Aug 23, 2003 7:51 pm ]
Post subject: 

It's Miss. Confussed again,

Ok so here is where I am at. I took out the new HD and put the old one back in, just to make sure I was installing the new one correctly. Then I put in the OS X install disks, and everything went great..just how it should. So then I reinstalled the new 20 gig HD and it didn't work. Then it made me wonder if the new Toshiba 20 gig Hard disk is compatible with my computer. I'll admit that i am new to some of this stuff, but I do have a good concecpt of what is going on. I got the HD from your online store, I guess maybe i should have asked before ordering. If it isn't do you have one that is compatible with the 300MHz tangerine clamshell. And will you take this one back. Thanks again for all your help..Your time is greatly appreciated.

Rachel

Author:  powerbookmedic [ Sat Aug 23, 2003 10:46 pm ]
Post subject: 

Rachel,

It is compatible. Are you able to partition the drive? If so, partition it into 12 and 8GB partitions, and then try to install. Have you tried drive utility in OS9?

-Bradley
Powerbookmedic.com

Author:  reking96 [ Sun Aug 24, 2003 8:34 am ]
Post subject: 

As of now I can not partition the drive. It isn't even there for me to select it. It is not being recgonized at all. I did try to install OS 9, but no luck there either. I will try everything again. Thanks again fr all your help.

Rachel

Author:  powerbookmedic [ Sun Aug 24, 2003 10:25 am ]
Post subject: 

Make sure you initilize the drive in Mac OS Extended...that could be your problem too.

-Bradley
Powerbookmedic.com

Author:  reking96 [ Sun Aug 24, 2003 11:08 am ]
Post subject: 

I tried everything again and nothing is happening. I tried using OS 9 and it didn't see the HD either. The only drive/disk that the program is finding is the CD Rom drive. I can't even select Mac OS Extended...it is not detecting a drive to initilize. It's like the HD doesn't exist. I don't know what else to do. Thanks for your help. There is nothing wrong with the old HD I just wanted more storage, but I can live with out it.

Author:  Lindsay [ Mon Jul 05, 2004 6:56 pm ]
Post subject:  iBook HD install - new hd unrecognizable

Wow. This thread was a true case of déjà vu for me. I came to this forum with the exact same problem. Was this issue ever resolved? And if so - how??? I can't get to my new HD at all, but I am pretty sure it is installed properly. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Author:  hawkeyeti2 [ Mon Jul 19, 2004 8:55 am ]
Post subject:  Hard Drive Problem

Make sure the drive is set to "MASTER". Check the switch setting in the back of the drive next to the male power plug. It the drives setting are set to "SLAVE" you won't be able to see the drive no matter what your do.

Good Luck
Bill
bhenigan@mac.com

Author:  Guest [ Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:54 pm ]
Post subject: 

I know a guy who's having almost the exact same problem. It's a laptop drive, so there aren't any jumpers for MASTER or SLAVE. There's just the one cable that covers data transfer and power.

Resetting the PRAM for this guy doesn't work either.

Author:  sophiep [ Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:25 pm ]
Post subject:  no hard drive either

I have just got exactly the same problem. Did anyone ever figure out how to get the computer to recognise it?

Author:  powerbookmedic [ Sat Mar 18, 2006 4:49 pm ]
Post subject: 

Is anyone still having this issue. If so, what models of drives are you using, and do your old drives work properly?

-Bradley
PowerbookMedic.com

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/