Easy Search [ ? ]

* Login   * Register * FAQ    * Search

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
 Post subject: cache problem or something else?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 11:32 am 
I have a Lombard 400 and 2 months ago the L2 cache died. I’m still able to use it but system profiler reports 0 K L2 cache size, the powerbook is slower and sometimes it hangs up for a few seconds, to restart I must reset it in the back and the directory structure gets corrupted very often (I have to rebuild it once a week with diskwarrior).
I bought a used processor daughter card in order to solve this problem. When I installed it the computer worked well and all the problems that I have mentioned before disappeared. However after 3 hours I let the powerbook go to sleep mode and it never worked again (I couldn’t restart it in any way). I reinstalled my old processor (without L2 cache) and the computer is working again, but with the same old problems.
The guy who sold me the processor tells me that there must be something wrong with my hardware that destroys the processors because he tested the processor and it was ok. Is this possible? Please help me!

Post subject: Sometimes the cache memory chip just dies on ya
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 11:06 pm