Easy Search [ ? ]
 
* Login   * Register * FAQ    * Search

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Logic Board RAM????
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:11 pm
Posts: 1
I have a Macbook 13" black 2.4Ghz, it dropped and doesn't start, when i turn it on sounds 3 beeps continuously, i put the right side RAM only and stops the 3 beeps but doesn't start, i put the left side RAM only and the 3 beeps are there, should i change the logic board???... I introduced a CD in the super drive and i can't extract it from the super drive, when i pulse the start button the super drive try to read the info, but it keeps working till i shut down the macbook by keep press the power button, should i change the super drive or is maybe a problem with the logic board???, Thanks for you help...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Board RAM????
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:35 am
Posts: 977
It's probably the logic board as you suspect. I would try any combination of RAM to the slots just to be sure, but its unlikely both chips are bad.

You may want to go into the machine and start unplugging unnecessary things just to confirm its not some other device causing problems. Disconnecting the airport module, hard drive, and superdrive is a good start.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Board RAM????
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 1:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 1:35 am
Posts: 1
I Have a similar problem regarding the RAM area. Same 13" and 2.4Ghz (A1181). My macbook has been banged by my little cousin. It gave the 3 beep sound. When I took out the RAM on the left side, it boots up fine running only 1GB. I'm guessing that left RAM side has been damage, but not the RAM memory itself, it still works. Do I have to replace the logic board RAM as well too? What should I do?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Board RAM????
PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:35 am
Posts: 977
I would try moving the working RAM chip to the other side and see if it starts beeping again. If it does, that slot is bad and the only fix is replacing the logic board. If it works though, that means that first chip you took out is bad. If the slot is bad, you may want to just max out that one working slot instead of buying a new board as that'll be much cheaper.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group