Easy Search [ ? ]
 
* Login   * Register * FAQ    * Search

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Replacement screen reports different manufacturer/vendor IDs
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:35 pm
Posts: 2
System: Apple MacBook Pro (v1,2), 2.16GHz (A1151) 1680x1050 glossy, OS-X 10.6.2

The original internal LCD panel in the MBP started to die, working
only intermittently. I purchased a replacement panel from
http://powerbookmedic.com

I have encountered some very strange and difficult problems in the
process and hope that someone can shed some light on how to resolve
the problems. I appologize in advance for an extremely long post.
However, the problem is indeed complicated and I have done a lot of
experimentation, the results of which are germane to diagnosis.

The original Apple panel was an LG Philips LP171WE2(TL)(A1). This is
exactly what I received from PowerbookMedic.

When I booted the MBP after replacing the screen, only about the
center 3/4 of the new internal LCD turned grey. A black/dark bar,
about 1" wide appeared on each side of the grey area.

A few seconds later, the Apple logo appeared, but it was of poor
quality and a strange color. The progress indicator soon appeared
underneath the Apple logo and it began to spin. A short while
thereafter, the machine is apparently booted, but the internal display
has a random array of thin grey vertical lines.

At this point, if I attach an external LCD display, an extended desktop
appears on the external display. There is no change in the internal
display. If I hit the F7 key to switch monitors, the main desktop
appears on the external display. There is no change in the internal
display, although I assume it is attempting to display the extened
desktop that was previously on the external disply.

This is a fresh OS install.

===========================================================================

'About This Mac' shows the following display info, after booting and
switching the main desktop to the external LCD.

ATI Radeon X1600:
Chipset Model: ATY,RadeonX1600
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x71c5
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-xxxxxx-086
EFI Driver Version: 01.00.086
Displays:
Color LCD (LGP):
Resolution: 1280 x 1024
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: On
Mirror Status: Master Mirror
Online: Yes
Built-In: Yes
Dell E193FP:
Resolution: 1152 x 864 @ 75 Hz
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Mirror: On
Mirror Status: Hardware Mirror
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported

Note that it shows the internal LCD with 1280x1024 resolution, the
Main Display, Mirroring On, and as the Master Mirror. The external
monitor is shown as 1152x864.

Neither of these is correct, as the internal lcd is 1680x1050 and the
external is 1280x1024.

===========================================================================

Thinking it might be an easy fix, I open the Display Perference
panel.

The panel for the internal LCD shows current resolution set at
1280x1024, BUT there is a note stating that 'Useable resolution
1152x864'. It also shows a max available resolution of 1680x1050.

The panel for the external LCD says that it is set at
1152x864 and shows a max available resolution of 1280x1024.

Using the Pref Panel, I set the resolution of the internal LCD to
1680x1050. The external display flashes, turns blue, and then
displays the main desktop again. This time, however, the prefs for
the internal LCD say that it is at 1680x1050, BUT 'Useable resolution
is 1280x1024'. The prefs for the external LCD show that it is now at
1280x1024 -- this is without me ever having changed it manually.

At this point, 'About this Mac' says:
Chipset Model: ATY,RadeonX1600
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x71c5
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-xxxxxx-086
EFI Driver Version: 01.00.086
Displays:
Color LCD (LGP):
Resolution: 1680 x 1050
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: On
Mirror Status: Master Mirror
Online: Yes
Built-In: Yes
Dell E193FP:
Resolution: 1280 x 1024 @ 75 Hz
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Mirror: On
Mirror Status: Hardware Mirror
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported


===========================================================================

/var/log/windowserver.log shows the following, which corresponds to
the boot sequence discussed at the beginning of this post. Changing
the screen resolution via Display Preferences (as above) apparently
does not log any information.

Feb 11 16:44:24 [48] Server is starting up
Feb 11 16:44:25 [48] CGXMappedDisplayStart: Display0 : no display alias property
Feb 11 16:44:25 [48] CGXMappedDisplayStart: Display1 : no display alias property
Feb 11 16:44:25 [48] GLCompositor: GL renderer id 0x01021902, GL mask 0x00000003, accelerator 0x00002f1b, unit 0, caps 0\
x00000003, vram 256 MB
Feb 11 16:44:25 [48] GLCompositor: GL renderer id 0x01021902, GL mask 0x00000003, texture units 8, texture max 4096, vie\
wport max {4096, 4096} extensions 0x0000000f
Feb 11 16:44:25 [48] AGCAttach: Couldn't find any matches
Feb 11 16:44:25 [48] CGXPerformInitialDisplayConfiguration
Feb 11 16:44:25 [48] Display 0x304a240: MappedDisplay Unit 0; Vendor 0x320c Model 0x1289 S/N 0; online enabled built-i\
n (0,0)[1280 x 1024], Rotation 0, base addr 0x5900000
Feb 11 16:44:25 [48] Display 0x3f003d: MappedDisplay Unit 1; Vendor 0xffffffff Model 0xffffffff S/N -1; offline enable\
d (2304,0)[1 x 1], Rotation 0, base addr 0x5900000
Feb 11 16:44:26 [48] Display 0x304a240: MappedDisplay Unit 0; ColorProfile "Color LCD (LGP)"
Feb 11 16:44:39 [48] Display 0x2b1c0381: MappedDisplay Unit 1; ColorProfile "Dell E193FP"


Although the replacement panel has the exact same part number as the
original panel it replaced -- both are LG Philips LP171WE2(TL)(A1) --
the new panel appears to report a different manufacturer and model
than did the original panel (see the log above).

Original panel: Vendor 0x610, Model 0x9c62
Replacement panel: Vendor 0x320c, Model 0x1289

With identical part numbers, I'd have expected the panels to be
indistinguishable, but the obviously are not.

===========================================================================

In an attempt to remedy the change in panel identification, I created
a new display override file using the new panel's information.
Specifically:

0) 'DIR=/System/Library/Displays/Overrides'
1) 'mkdir ${DIR}/DisplayVendorID-320c'
2) 'cp ${DIR}/DisplayVendorID-610/DisplayProductID-9c62 \
${DIR}/DisplayVendorID-320c/DisplayProductID-1289'
3) In the DisplayProductID-1289 file, changed the DisplayProductName
value to a unique value that I could identify as mine.

===========================================================================
I rebooted after adding the display override file. windowserver.log
showed that the new override file was actually being used. However,
the behavior of the internal panel did not change.

If booted without an external display connected, it behaves exactly as
described earlier.

If booted with an external display connected, there is a slight change
in behavior. Shortly after boot, the Apple logo appears, however, it
is stretched, as if a 1280x1024 image was scaled-up to fill a
1680x1050 display. Shortly thereafter, the spinner appears under the
Apple logo and starts to spin. A short while thereafter, the machine
is booted, but the internal display has a random array of thin grey
vertical lines and the external display is showing the extended
desktop.

If I hit the F7 key to switch monitors, the main desktop appears on
the external display. There is no change in the internal display.

Display prefs for the external monitor look correct (1280x1024, etc.)

Display prefs for the internal LCD panel show that the display
override that I peviously created was being used (I can tell via the
unique DisplayProductName). The current resolution of the internal
panel is show as 1680x1050n, *BUT* with a message stating 'usable
resolution 1280x1024'.

I can swap displays and change resolutions all day long, but the
internal panel never changes.

Here is what the windowserver.log shows:

Feb 11 14:23:20 [53] Display 0x304a240: MappedDisplay Unit 0; Vendor 0x320c Model 0x1289 S/N 0; online enabled built-i\
n (0,0)[1280 x 1024], Rotation 0, base addr 0x5800000
Feb 11 14:23:20 [53] Display 0x3f003d: MappedDisplay Unit 1; Vendor 0xffffffff Model 0xffffffff S/N -1; offline enable\
d (2304,0)[1 x 1], Rotation 0, base addr 0x5800000
Feb 11 14:23:20 [53] Display 0x304a240: MappedDisplay Unit 0; ColorProfile "Color LCD (LGP)"
Feb 11 14:23:31 [53] Display 0x2b1c0381: MappedDisplay Unit 1; ColorProfile "Dell E193FP"

===========================================================================
At this point, I thought that some previous inconsistent state was
hanging around somewhere and being used to setup the display
parameters. I then removed the following files:

/Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver.plist
/Users/khe/Library/Preferences/ByHost/com.apple.windowserver.*.plist
/Users/khe/Library/Preferences/ByHost/com.apple.preference.display*
/private/var/vm/sleepimage

I don't know enough about the kernel's behavior to manually clean
caches, so I also used 'Onyx' to clear the boot cache, the kernel
cache, etc.

I checked nvram to make certain that there were no boot-args
overriding my settings. The exact settings are at the end of this
post.

I checked 'Kernel Flags' in
/System/Library/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist, and no flags
of any type were set there.

After rebooting, the behavior remains unchanged.

At this point, I am out of ideas. It seems as if the graphics chip is
confusing the two 'monitors'. The max usable resolution on the
internal LCD seems to be governed by the max resolution of the
external LCD. Also, the internal LCD is shown as the 'Main Display'
and 'Online' -- this seems wrong, but I don't know the exact semantics
of the statuses to know for sure.

PLEASE HELP! I've over a week on this and am completely out of ideas.

Also, I have cleared NVRAM and PRAM, to no avail.

I wonder if the EDID string from the 9c62 override file is correct? I
don't know enough about EDID to tell. It sure seems like there is a
hidden state that is being assigned to the new internal panel, that I
have not yet reset.

Thanks for any suggestions you may have.


+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=
+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=
bash-3.2$ nvram -xp
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>SystemAudioVolume</key>
<data>
Yg==
</data>
<key>boot-image</key>
<data>
AgEMANBBAwoAAAAAAQEGAAIfAwEIAAABAAAEASoAAgAAAChABgAAAAAAYKo4JQAAAAAk
9WLIemX9RJanSJx0vFjHAgIEBBgAMwAyAGEANwBjAGMAMAAwADAAAAB//wQA
</data>
<key>efi-boot-device</key>
<data>
PGFycmF5PjxkaWN0PjxrZXk+QkxMYXN0QlNETmFtZTwva2V5PjxzdHJpbmc+ZGlzazBz
Mjwvc3RyaW5nPjxrZXk+SU9NYXRjaDwva2V5PjxkaWN0PjxrZXk+SU9Qcm9wZXJ0eU1h
dGNoPC9rZXk+PGRpY3Q+PGtleT5VVUlEPC9rZXk+PHN0cmluZz5DODYyRjUyNC02NTdB
LTQ0RkQtOTZBNy00ODlDNzRCQzU4Qzc8L3N0cmluZz48L2RpY3Q+PGtleT5JT1Byb3Zp
ZGVyQ2xhc3M8L2tleT48c3RyaW5nPklPTWVkaWE8L3N0cmluZz48L2RpY3Q+PC9kaWN0
PjwvYXJyYXk+AA==
</data>
<key>efi-boot-device-data</key>
<data>
AgEMANBBAwoAAAAAAQEGAAIfAwEIAAABAAAEASoAAgAAAChABgAAAAAAYKo4JQAAAAAk
9WLIemX9RJanSJx0vFjHAgJ//wQA
</data>
<key>platform-uuid</key>
<data>
AAAAAAAAEACAAAAWy8mS5g==
</data>
</dict>
</plist>
+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=
+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacement screen reports different manufacturer/vendor IDs
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:35 pm
Posts: 2
Clarification...

While the sticker on the replacement LCD panel says 'LP171WE2(TL)(A1)', SwitchResX says 'LP171WE2(TL)(03). I have no clue as to whether or not this is important. I suppose it could account for the differing identification provided by the replacement panel.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacement screen reports different manufacturer/vendor IDs
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:51 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:35 am
Posts: 977
I'd contact our customer support department. I believe we had one batch of screens that had trouble with certain models and are exchanging those for screens from a newer batch. These screens unfortunately are beginning to be very hard to come by, so there could possibly be a delay getting a replacement sent depending on when your RMA request is processed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group