Easy Search [ ? ]
 
* Login   * Register * FAQ    * Search

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HD upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:41 pm
Posts: 3
I love my good old workhorse Pismo which I upgraded some two years ago with a new Combo Drive (slot loading) and a G4 processor (plus a lot of support from Bradley - thanks again :D). The combo drive is not working very well - it takes a lot of hard work and persuation to get it to eject discs - the processor, however, works like a charm
Still, I have felt the pressure to take the leap into the 21st century - and I finally convinced myself into buying an almost-new black macbook with a 200 GB HD and the original 80 GB Toshiba MK 8032GSX hard drive on the side. I now wonder whether I can recycle the leftover 80 GB hd as internal drive in my Pismo?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HD upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:35 am
Posts: 977
The 80gb is a sata drive which won't work with the pismo which used the old IDE drives. About all it is good for is putting in an external enclosure and using as a backup drive.

We sell the sata enclosures on our site.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HD upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 12:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:41 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks a TB for that info. I suspected something in that direction, and have now moved on to the next bright idea - that won't work for me. I would really like my pismo to run OS Tiger - I have the CD-rom discs that originally came with my blackbook (which has been upgraded to leopard; but those discs I don't have...).
I have tried to boot the pismo from the install disc (using either the internal SUPER (not combo :? !) drive that I bought from pbmedic or using the "new" macbook as external firewire unit).
It starts up allright, but then I get a long message about some kind of "CPU panic" -" unable to find driver for this platform; "powerbook 3,1"" - and a lot of information about backtracing chains that could be written in chinese as far as I'm concerned. It's completely non-sensial to me.
I have also tried to erase the previously installed OS (9.2.2/Leopard) - same thing happens.

As far as I know the pismo should be able to run with Tiger - but perhaps not with the G4 processor installed??? PLEASE, someone, help me on this one - the week-end is almost over in Denmark, and I really need to go to work tomorrow... :mrgreen: (well, there's another end next week, I guess - but it's hard to let these problems sit).

And I need to decide wether it's worth the effort (and money) to change the super drive once again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HD upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:35 am
Posts: 977
You are probably using restore disks which sometimes only work for those certain machines. You'd have to get a retail tiger disk for it to work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HD upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 2:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:41 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks for a speedy (although somewhat disappointing) answer. I'll go get myself some real discs, I think, and get my old friend back to work.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group